Simplified Import and Export paperwork between Croatia and the UK

Croatia will join the Common Transit Convention from 1 July 2012.

Under the Common Transit Convention goods can move freely between the 27 Member States of the European Union (EU) these are referred to as Community Goods.

Community goods are those goods which originate in the EU or which have been imported from outside the EU and released for free circulation that is, all import formalities have been completed and duties paid.

The Common Transit convention is basically special status to certain countries that are not in the EU but because of being a neighbour or other for trade reasons have special status. The European Trade Free Countries (EFTA) are currently Iceland, Norway, Liechtenstein and Switzerland.

Common Transit status basically means that a slightly restricted Community Transit Status is extended to countries that are part of the Common Transit Convention.

Therefore simplified import and export rules that apply to the EFTA countries will extend to Croatia as from the 1 July 2012. When Croatia accedes to the CT Convention, this will bring the total up to 32 countries.

Turkey will accede to the Convention later in the year.